[Compare VoIP Companies and Plans] | [Home] | [Customer Service]

« Zingotel Jumps On The SunRocket Carcass

SunRocket Phishing? »

Teleblend.com - Myteleblend.net:
What’s Going On?

A VoIP company called Teleblend, that no one has ever heard of, has been contacting SunRocket customers today. I saw this first over at GigaOM where a user had posted a comment that they had an email from SunRocket that they had an option of going with Packet8 or Teleblend.

Since no one has ever heard of Teleblend, and their website, www.teleblend.com does an automatic redirect to www.myteleblend.net, that was just registered 2 days ago with Godaddy.com, I have a feeling that all is not right here.

following the line of reasoning that says “SunRocket isn’t sending out emails, and if they did, would they pick a company that’s only 2 days old”, I’m thinking scam. Here’s a link to a post over at Blogspot from a person who also saw something wrong with this whole scenario too.

On that note, here is the whois information for

Teleblend.com
Registrant:
UnCommUm
5 Bragdon Lane
Kennebunk, Maine 04043
United States

Registered through: TLD Webs
Domain Name: TELEBLEND.COM
Created on: 14-Feb-05
Expires on: 31-Dec-09
Last Updated on: 18-Jul-07

Administrative Contact:
Fogg, Bill bfogg@usacsp.com
UnCommUn
5 Bragdon Lane
Kennebunk, Maine 04043
United States
2074679004 Fax --

Technical Contact:
, Dev hostmaster@prexar.com
Prexar, LLC
40 Summer Street
Bangor, Maine 04401
United States
2079744300 Fax -- 2079744378

Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.PREXAR.COM
NS2.PREXAR.COM

Here is the Registrars information for:

myteleblend.net
Registrant:
Network Operations
520 E Zarragossa Street
Pensacola, Florida 32502
United States

Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: MYTELEBLEND.NET
Created on: 17-Jul-07
Expires on: 18-Jul-09
Last Updated on: 17-Jul-07

Administrative Contact:
Operations, Network domreg@overgroup.com
520 E Zarragossa Street
Pensacola, Florida 32502
United States
(850) 470-5502

Technical Contact:
Operations, Network domreg@overgroup.com
520 E Zarragossa Street
Pensacola, Florida 32502
United States
(850) 470-5502

Domain servers in listed order:
NS51.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
NS52.DOMAINCONTROL.COM

Note: This was added later in the day.
I just went to godaddy.com, since that was where this domain was purchased, and it was actually purchased by the guy who has Teleblend.com, so now it doesn’t look quite so sinister. also, if you look into the past, Prexar, the main company associated with this used to be a CLEC (Local Exchange Carrier). If you do a search for Prexar on google, you come up with old telecom stuff telated to Prexar’s sale to USA Telecom (United Systems Access Telecom). Google search of Prexar.

Registrant:
TeleBlend

5 Bragdon Lane
Kennebunk, Maine 04043
United States

Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: MYTELEBLEND.NET
Created on: 17-Jul-07
Expires on: 18-Jul-09
Last Updated on: 17-Jul-07

Administrative Contact:
TeleBlend, TeleBlend info@teleblend.com
TeleBlend
5 Bragdon Lane
Kennebunk, Maine 04043
United States
8772524549

Technical Contact:
TeleBlend, TeleBlend info@teleblend.com
TeleBlend
5 Bragdon Lane
Kennebunk, Maine 04043
United States
8772524549

Domain servers in listed order:
NS51.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
NS52.DOMAINCONTROL.COM

When I tried to pull the information for Prexar.com, which is a company in Maine that has the same address as that which is listed in Teleblend.com’s Whois info, this is all I get:

Domain Name: PREXAR.COM
Registrar: TUCOWS INC.
Whois Server: whois.tucows.com
Referral URL: http://domainhelp.opensrs.net
Name Server: NS1.PREXAR.COM
Name Server: NS2.PREXAR.COM
Status: ok
Updated Date: 21-nov-2006
Creation Date: 20-dec-1999
Expiration Date: 20-dec-2007

Anyone have more information on this?

Tags

VoIP Red Flags

Share This

This entry was posted on Thursday, July 19th, 2007 at 7:19 pm and is filed under VoIP Red Flags. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply


VoipSpider.com VoIP Articles (RSS), VoIP Comments (RSS) VoipSpider XML Sitemap.